David J. Farley of Plympton, Plymouth, United Kingdom

David J. Farley of Plympton, Plymouth, United Kingdom

Friday, February 17, 2017

Queen's Police Medal Awards

Over half of the Queen’s Police Medals
have been awarded to officers below the rank of superintendent.
Nine rank and file police officers have been 
awarded the prestigious Queen’s Police Medal
by Her Majesty The Queen as part of her 
New Year’s Honours – 3 times the number 
honoured in the 2016 Birthday Honours.
In one of her final actions as Home Secretary,
Prime MinisterTheresa May recommended 
that more officers below senior 
ranks should receive the Queen’s Police Medal, 
to recognise the vital role they play in protecting 
the public and address an imbalance over to 
whom the medal is awarded.
Police leaders responded by putting forward 
a number officers from junior ranks from 
across England and Wales who have shown 
outstanding courage and distinguished 
service in the line of duty. More than half 
of the 17 Queen’s Police Medals announced 
today have been awarded to officers below 
the rank of superintendent.
Home Secretary Amber Rudd said:
These deserving recipients of Queen’s Police
Medals have gone above and beyond 
the call of their duties and it is absolutely 
right that we recognise all of those who serve 
our communities and keep us safe.

I am especially pleased by the response 
from policing leaders, who have made sure 
that a shift in nominations has led to a much 
more representative group of officers
receiving the medal. I look forward to seeing 
many more brave and talented individuals 
at every rank of our police forces being 
honoured in this way in the future.
The Queen’s Police Medal was instituted 
by its royal warrant in 1954 and is awarded 
to officers of any rank for acts of courage 
and/or conspicuous devotion to duty. 
It superseded the King’s Police Medal, 
which was originally created in 1909.
Minister for Policing and the Fire Service 
Brandon Lewis said: There are exceptionally 
skilled, dedicated and professional 
officers in all areas of our police forces, 
from frontline constables to senior leaders. 
Honours such as the Queen’s Police Medal 
have been awarded for over 100 years to 
recognise some of their exceptional individual 
I am delighted that more rank and file 
officers have been awarded the medal 
this year, for dedication to their duties and 
acts of exceptional courage. I hope
the example they have set continues to 
inspire the very best from officers and 
police staff in 2017.
The recipients of the Queen’s Police Medal 
  • PC Ifor Williams 
  • (Avon and Somerset Police)
  • Sergeant Timothy Slade 
  • (City of London Police)
  • PC Jacqueline Oliver
  • (Metropolitan Police Service)
  • Chief Superintendent Martin Lloyd Fry
  • (British Transport Police)
  • PC Leslie Roger Eke 
  • (Thames Valley Police)
  • PC Christopher Smith 
  • (Dorset Police)
  • PC Louise Pye 
  • (Sussex Police)
  • PC Shirley Vivienne Lindsay 
  • (Avon and Somerset Police)
  • Inspector Ian David Hanson 
  • (Greater Manchester Police)
  • Detective Inspector Carol Ellwood 
  • (Humberside Police)
  • Chief Superintendent Gordon Briggs
  •  (Metropolitan Police Service)
  • Chief Superintendent Victor Olisa 
  • (Metropolitan Police Service)
  • Chief Superintendent Jagdev Singh Atwal 
  • (Derbyshire Constabulary)
  • Assistant Chief Constable David John Allard 
  • (Ministry of Defence Police)
  • Temporary Assistant Chief Constable
  •  Angela Williams (West Yorkshire Police)
  • Commander Simon Martin Letchford 
  • (Metropolitan Police Service)
  • Chief Constable David Graham Jones 
  • (North Yorkshire Police)

1 comment:

Annette Hulett said...

Congratulations to all of them, I'm sure they deserve it.